Relaxation Station!

It is currently past twelve in the morning and I’m lying in bed with Friends on my tv and laptop on my lap. Gotta love summer am I right???

Anyways, if you couldn’t tell from the calming header image, I am doing a post on tips for relaxation. After a long day of school or just being yourself, you feel exhausted. But, if you are like me, once you get ready for bed you are wide awake! Whether you just ate a bowl of ice cream (guilty) or took long naps during the day (also guilty), you feel like this new energy is impossible to get rid of. That’s why I will provide you the DO’S and DON’TS that I have learned from my personal experiences hahaha!!!

DON’T:

  • Eat – I’m a person who is hungry 24/7. However, it is best to refrain from snacking or any meals up to an hour before you go to sleep. It’s not the greatest feeling to go to sleep on an overfilled stomach (@me)
  • Drink – I’m not saying to starve or thirst yourself to sleep nonoNO! It’s just best not to drink a lot before you go to sleep or else you will be waking up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom (been there, done that!). However, I recommend drinking water or tea (especially peppermint) a half hour-an hour before you go to sleep
  • Surf the Web turn off your phone*, tablet, tv*, and even your laptop a half hour before you go to sleep. Why? The bright screen triggers something in your brain to stay on and awake. Why not lower the brightness, you ask? Simply because you need a break from your electronics. Your snaps can wait until the morning. (*if you really can’t fall asleep without your tv, watch something without a strong story plot that will need you to be focus on the show. Watch something that will make you happy and satisfied.)
  • Pile Up the Layers – I love to be wrapped up in a bunch of blankets. However, during the summertime (aka NOW), too many blankets may make uncomfortable sleeping conditions. Therefore, surround yourself with appropriate sleeping conditions. For example, I wear light pjs with a fan in my room cause sometimes my room gets stuffy in the summertime. During winter however, I usually wear long pjs with my comforter covering me. Do what suits you
  • Exercise – even though it’s healthy for you, I don’t recommend to do it right before you sleep. Even though you think you will be tired right after a workout, your mind and body is still giving off those major energy vibes. Therefore, exercise 1-2 hours before you go to sleep. This will allow time for you to calm down and start to feel tired from your workout.

 

DO:

  • READ! – reading a book is the perfect way to wind down and relax your mind. Find a comfortable spot and dive right into your book! However, don’t read stories that will make you think or might get you a bit scared (I’m looking right at ya thrillers and mysteries!). Instead, read books that are light on the thoughts yet up-lifting.
  • WRITE! – yeahhhh maybe typing on your laptop in the middle of the night is not the brightest idea (@ME AGAIN!!!). However, writing the old fashioned way with pen and paper will also calm your mind. Some examples are starting a bullet journal to jot down your thoughts from the day (mine is still in progress). Or you can write a poem/story (but not something that will make you think a lot). You can even write out a blog post for your blog (~note to self~)
  • MEDITATE! – I know many people who think meditation is for religious people…but it’s not. It’s really just a way to relax your mind and body. I use an app* (*yes, this is the exception for using your phone) called Calm. They have soothing nature sounds, breathing exercises, and even sleep stories. You can either use that or meditate yourself by steadily breathing, close your eyes while listening to soothing sounds, and just let your mind free.
  • DIM THE LIGHTS! – whenever I hear someone say this, it reminds me of Ryan Seacrest during elimination nights on American Idol. What I really mean is to turn on a lamp and candle instead of your full room lights. I find this helpful for me as I start to calm down because it creates a not so bright and energetic environment.
  • TREAT YO SELF!pamper yourself with scrubs, face masks, painting your nails, and more! You can either DIY them or use one of your favs from a shop. The one I used tonight was the British Rose Face Mask from The Body Shop. I got a sample of it from a friend of mind AND I LOVE IT! It smells delightful, cools you down when you  put it on, and gives you a soft face as a result.
  • PLAN! – why not prepare for the day ahead! I usually like to get out my planner and put in important dates/input updates before I forget. You can also prepare your outfit for the next day, create your to-do list, or make sure your backpack has the things needed for the next day of school. Not only will this relax you, but it will also have you check off one thing on your list of things to do in the morning.
  • SHOWER! – now I know this is such a big debate on whether to shower or not to shower in the nighttime. However, I find showering as a time of the night to reflect back on my day while calming myself. To be honest, I do most of my thinking in the shower (do other people do that or am i just a weirdo? Nope, just a weirdo.). Also, getting into bed once you have showered is THE GREATEST FEELING EVERRRR!!!!!

 

I hope you will find these tips useful as they work for me. If you do use these tips and tricks, let me know in the comments. Also, do you shower in the daytime or nighttime? I probably should stop typing because now it is past one and I am at the point where I can watch Fresh Prince of Bel Air on Nick sooooooo GOTTA BLAST!!!

lots of love, Totally Rad 🙂

PS: Sorry I didn’t post Friday, I had ANOTHER busy busy weekend. I guess I’m a busy bee.

PPS: ……..innnnnn WEST PHILADELPHIA BORN AND RAISE ON THE PLAYGROUND WHERE I SPENT MOST OF MY DAYS……

Leave a Reply

